The Richard H. Driehaus Prize at the University of Notre Dame

The Driehaus Prize complements the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture’s classical and urbanist curriculum, providing a forum for celebrating and advancing the principles of the traditional city with an emphasis on sustainability.

Established in 2003, the Driehaus Prize is awarded to a living architect whose work embodies the highest ideals of traditional and classical architecture in contemporary society, and creates a positive cultural, environmental, and artistic impact.

In conjunction, the School presents the Henry Hope Reed Award to recognize achievement in the promotion and preservation of those ideals among people who work outside the architecture field. Together, the $200,000 Driehaus Prize and the $50,000 Reed Award represent the most significant recognition for classicism in the contemporary built environment.

About the Prize

Meet Our Laureates

With each new laureate, the community is expanded and the conversation surrounding issues of tradition, sustainability, livability and humanism becomes richer.


Collage of the past six laureates of the Richard H. Driehaus Prize, from left to right in the top row: Petery Pennoyer, Ben Pentreath, Rob Krier, bottom: Sebastian Treese Architekten (including Julia Treese, Sebastian Treese, and Jan Burggraf), Ong-ard Satrabhandhu, and Maurice Culot.
Richard H. Driehaus

Beauty, harmony, and context are hallmarks of classical architecture, thus fostering communities, enhancing the quality of our shared environment, and developing sustainable solutions through traditional materials.

Richard H. Driehaus

The Henry Hope Reed Award

Awarded in conjunction with the Driehaus Prize, the Henry Hope Reed Award recognizes an individual working outside the practice of architecture who has supported the cultivation of the traditional city, its architecture and art through writing, planning or promotion.

Reed Award